## **KPFK Delegates Meeting January 6, 2007**

A regular meeting of the KPFK Local Station Board was held on Saturday, January 6, 2007 at the Echo Park United Methodist Church, 1226 Alvarado Street, Los Angeles, CA 90026. Jack VanAken served as Chair and Adriana Gomez served as Secretary Pro-Tem. The minutes for January 10, 2005, January 6, 2006, and September 6, 2006 were appoved.

**Twenty-two members were present:** Grace Aaron, Dave Adelson, Yolanda Anguiano, Lydia Brazon, Israel Feuer, Bill Gallegos, Jan Goodman (arrived late), Terry Goodman, Sherna Gluck (arrived late), Ian Johnston (arrived late), Kimberly King, Tracy Larkins, Ali Lexa, Reza Pour, Margaret Prescod, Jack VanAken, Fernando Velazquez, Steve Weatherwax, Don White, Gabrielle Woods (arrived late), Yosh Yamanaka and Lamont Yeakey.

Also present: Secretary Pro-Tem Adriana Gomez

Also present: KPFK Elections Working Group

Two members were excused: Rodrigo Argueta and Arturo Lemus

Also absent: General Manager Eva Georgia

**Authority and Notice:** This meeting was authorized by the LSB by a motion approved at its meeting of October 7, 2006. Specific notice was posted on the KPFK website beginning on December 5, 2006 (see Appendix A).

## I. CALL TO ORDER, CALL OF THE ROLL, WELCOME & ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS, REVIEW AND APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA, APPROVAL OF MINUTES, MOTION FOR EXCUSED ABSENCES

The meeting was called to order at 11:29 am

The Agenda was **approved** at 11:33 am. (See Appendix B)

**Motion:** Terry Goodman moved that the minutes from the January 10, 2005, January 6, 2006, and September 6, 20066 meetings be approved. **Motion passed** with no objections.

Motion: That the following members be excused: Rodrigo Argueta and Arturo Lemus.Motion passed with no objections.II. COMMENTS by the Chair were delivered at 11:36 am

## **III. ELECTIONS OF PNB Directors** began at 11:39 am

The members accepting nominations for Listener-Sponsor Staff Director was Margaret

Prescod.

The members accepting nominations for Listener-Sponsor Representative Director were Grace Aaron, Dave Adelson, Lydia Brazon, Israel Feuer, Don White and Lamont Yeakey.

The candidates were asked and responded to questions from LSB Members.

Grace Aaron withdrew her candidacy.

**Motion:** Dave Adelson moved to extend the agenda item by ten minutes. **Motion failed.** It did not receive 2/3 of the Board's votes, Y: 9 N:7.

Margaret Prescod was elected Listener-Sponsor Staff Representative Director of the Pacifica National Board by Instant Runoff Voting method (IRV).

Dave Adelson, Lydia Brazon and Don White were elected Listener-Sponsor Representative Directors of the Pacifica National Board by Single Transferable Voting method (STV).

A segment of **public comment** was heard at 12:44 pm

**Motion:** Dave Adelson moved to adjourn the meeting at 1:12pm **Motion passed** with no objections.

Adriana G. Gomez These minutes were approved by the KPFK Body of Delegates on March 7, 2007.