## **KPFK Delegates Meeting March 7, 2007**

A regular meeting of the KPFK Body of Delegates was held on Wednesday, March 7, 2007 at the Quaker House, 4167 S. Normandie Av., Los Angeles, CA 90037. Jack VanAken served as Chair and as Secretary Pro-Tem.

**Fifteen members were present:** Grace Aaron, Dave Adelson, Yolanda Anguiano, Rodrigo Argueta Lydia Brazon, Israel Feuer, Sherna Gluck, Tracy Larkins, Arturo Lemus, Ali Lexa, Reza Pour, Jack VanAken, Steve Weatherwax, Don White, Gabrielle Woods.

Also present: General Manager Eva Georgia and Development Director Sue Welsh

Three members were excused: Kimberly King, Margaret Prescod and Yosh Yamanaka.

**Also absent:** Bill Gallegos, Jan Goodman, Terry Goodman, Ian Johnston, Fernando Velazquez, and Lamont Yeakey

**Authority and Notice:** This meeting was authorized by the LSB by a motion approved at its meeting of February 10, 2007. Specific notice was posted on the KPFK website beginning on February 22, 2007 (see Appendix A).

The minutes for the KPFK Body of Delegates meeting of January 6, 2007 were approved as amended (see Appendix C) by unanimous consent.

Submitted Jack VanAken, Secretary Pro-Tem These minutes were approved on 4/7/07.

### APPENDIX A Meeting Notice

The KPFK Delegates and Local Station Board will meet Wednesday, March 7, 2007 at 7:00 pm at the Quaker House, 4167 S. Normandie Av, Los Angeles, CA 90037-1736.

Jack VanAken, KPFK Local Station Board chair 661-755-2590 jackv@123mail.org

Refs:

http://www.kpfk.org/index.php?option=com\_content&task=view&id=2639&Itemid=100 http://www.kpfk.org/index.php?option=com\_events&task=view\_detail&agid=1593&year=2007&month=03&day=07&Itemid=63

http://disc.server.com/discussion.cgi?disc=165346;article=39436 http://disc.server.com/discussion.cgi?disc=203188;article=9922

APPENDIX B Proposed agenda

Proposed Agenda - DRAFT KPFK Delegates and LSB Meeting, March 7, 2007, 7:00 p.m. The Quaker House 4167 S. Normandie Av Los Angeles, CA 90037

#### KPFK DELEGATES MEETING

I: Call to Order
Welcome & Acknowledgements
Call of the Roll
Motion for Excused Absences
Approval of Minutes from Jan 10, 2007 [total: 10 minutes]

# APPENDIX C Approval of minutes

## KPFK Delegates Meeting January 6, 2007

A regular meeting of the KPFK Local Station Board was held on Saturday, January 6, 2007 at the Echo Park United Methodist Church, 1226 Alvarado Street, Los Angeles, CA 90026. Jack VanAken served as Chair and Adriana Gomez served as Secretary Pro-Tem. The minutes for January 10, 2005, January 6, 2006, and September 6, 2006 were appoved.

Twenty-two members were present: Grace Aaron, Dave Adelson, Yolanda Anguiano, Lydia Brazon, Israel Feuer, Bill Gallegos, Jan Goodman (arrived late), Terry Goodman, Sherna Gluck (arrived late), Ian Johnston (arrived late), Kimberly King, Tracy Larkins, Ali Lexa, Reza Pour, Margaret Prescod, Jack VanAken, Fernando Velazquez, Steve Weatherwax, Don White, Gabrielle Woods (arrived late), Yosh Yamanaka and Lamont Yeakey.

Also present: Secretary Pro-Tem Adriana Gomez

Also present: KPFK Elections Working Group

Two members were excused: Rodrigo Argueta and Arturo Lemus

Also absent: General Manager Eva Georgia

Authority and Notice: This meeting was authorized by the LSB by a motion approved at its meeting of October 7, 2006. Specific notice was posted on the KPFK website beginning on December 5, 2006 (see Appendix A).

I. CALL TO ORDER, CALL OF THE ROLL, WELCOME & ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS, REVIEW AND APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA, APPROVAL OF MINUTES, MOTION FOR EXCUSED ABSENCES

The meeting was called to order at 11:29 am

The Agenda was **approved** at 11:33 am. (See Appendix B)

*Motion:* Terry Goodman moved that the minutes from the January 10, 2005, January 6, 2006, and September 6, 20066 meetings be approved. *Motion passed* with no objections.

**Motion:** That the following members be excused: Rodrigo Argueta and Arturo Lemus. **Motion passed** with no objections.

II. COMMENTS by the Chair were delivered at 11:36 am

## III. ELECTIONS OF PNB Directors began at 11:39 am

The members accepting nominations for Listener-Sponsor Staff Director was Margaret Prescod.

The members accepting nominations for Listener-Sponsor Representative Director were Grace Aaron, Dave Adelson, Lydia Brazon, Israel Feuer, Don White and Lamont Yeakey.

The candidates were asked and responded to questions from LSB Members.

Grace Aaron withdrew her candidacy.

Motion: Dave Adelson moved to extend the agenda item by ten minutes. Motion failed. It did not receive 2/3 of the Board's votes, Y: 9 N:7.

Margaret Prescod was elected Listener-Sponsor Staff Representative Director of the Pacifica National Board by Instant Runoff Voting method (IRV).

Dave Adelson, Lydia Brazon and Don White were elected Listener-Sponsor Representative Directors of the Pacifica National Board by Single Transferable Voting method (STV).

A segment of public comment was heard at 12:44 pm

Motion: Dave Adelson moved to adjourn the meeting at 1:12pm Motion passed with no objections.

Adriana G. Gomez.

These minutes were approved by the KPFK Body of Delegates on March 7, 2007.