

3729 Cahuenga Blvd. West - N. Hollywood, CA 91604

Main phone: (818) 985-2711 - Fax: (818) 763-7526 - Studio phone: (818) 985-5735

MINUTES

Local Station Board Meeting of February 18, 2018 Aris & Carolyn Anagnos Peace Center 3916 Sepulveda Blvd, Culver City, CA 90230 Local Station Board (LSB) Meeting

I. Call to Order / Opening Business 11:00 a.m.

A. Roll Call Taken:

Present are KPFK LSB Members Grace Aaron, Ken Aaron, Marlena Bond, Roberta Eidman, Jaime Gomez, Jan Goodman, Stephen Kaiser, Reza Pour, Myla Reson, Lawrence Reyes, Mansoor Sabbagh, Lance Simmens, Fernando Velaszquez, and Lisa Wong. Also present is LSB Secretary Michael Adler.

B. Approve Proposed Agenda:

A motion was made to move Public Comments 1 to before the Personnel Committee Motion and move Public Comments 2 to before the National Committee elections. The motion was approved by unanimous consent. A motion to approve the revised Proposed Agenda was made and seconded. The modified agenda was approved by unanimous consent.

C. LSB Excused absence requests:

Jonathan Alexander, Sandy Childs, Stephen Frantz, Maggie LePique, Ali Lexa, Barbara Marbach, Ismael Parra, Steve Pride, and Dorothy Reik requested excused absences.

The excused absences were approved by a vote of 8 yes; 5 no; with one abstention.

D. Approve January 21, 2018 LSB Minutes:

A motion to approve the Local Station Board Minutes of January 21, 2018 was made and seconded and the draft minutes were approved by unanimous consent.

II. Public Comments #1 11:15 am -11:30 am

Public comments were presented.

III. Personnel Committee Motion

The Chair presented background on the motion and entertained questions from the LSB. A motion was made to separate each of the three items contained in the motion for voting purposes. The motion to separate the motion into three items for LSB approval was approved by unanimous consent.

KPFK Minutes February 18, 2018

The KPFK Local Station Board (LSB) authorizes the KPFK Personnel Committee to do the following:

- 1) Form an ad-hoc Program Director Search Committee (PDSC) composed of interested Personnel Committee members to perform the search for a Program Director for KPFK. Any LSB member may join the Personnel Committee by attending its next meeting.
 - The Chair allowed presentations to be made both for and against the motion for item number 1. A role vote was taken and the motion passed 8 for and 5 against with the vote as follows: Yes (to approve): Grace Aaron, Ken Aaron, Marlena Bond, Jaime Gomez, Stephen Kaiser, Reza Pour, Mansoor Sabbagh, Lisa Wong; No: Roberta Eidman, Jan Goodman, Myla Reson, Lawrence Reyes, Fernando Velaszquez; Abstain: Lance Simmons.
- 2) Further, the LSB authorizes the Personnel Committee to perform an evaluation of the interim Program Director (iPD). This task may be done while the PD Search is going on.
 - The Chair allowed presentations to be made both for and against the motion for number 2. A role vote was taken and the motion passed 7 for and 6 against and 1 abstention with the vote as follow: Yes (to approve): Lance Simmens, Jan Goodman, Myla Reson, Lawrence Reyes, Fernando Velaszquez, Marlena Bond, Reza Pour; No: Roberta Eidman, Grace Aaron, Ken Aaron, Stephen Kaiser, Mansoor Sabbagh, Lisa Wong; Abstain: Jaime Gomez.
- 3) When the list of Program Director candidates is developed by the PDSC, the list would be given to the LSB for its review and approval. Likewise, when the evaluation process is completed for the iPD, it would be given to the LSB for its review and approval.
 - 3. This third item was passed by unanimous consent.

IV. Public Comments #2 12:06 am – 12:28 pm

<u>Public comments were presented.</u>

V. National Committee Elections

Elections were held for LSB representatives to the PNB Programming Committee. Accepting the nominations for the PNB Programming Committee were Ken Aaron, Fernando Velazquez, and Marlena Bond. The winners in the STV voting were Ken Aaron and Marlena Bond.

KPFK Minutes February 18, 2018

LSB members were then invited to volunteer for the other committees. The KPFK LSB volunteers for the committees were:

Audit Committee	Finance Committee	Governance Committee	Programming Committee	Development Committee
Marlena Bond	Ken Aaron	Barbara Marbach	Ken Aaron	Marlena Bond
Jaime Gomez		Lawrence Reyes	Marlena Bond	Fernando Velaszquez

Elections Committee	Technology Committee	Affiliates Task Force	Archives Task Force	Sexism and Racism	Committee of Inclusion
Reza Pour	Grace Aaron	Jaime Gomez	Marlena Bond	Reza Pour	Jan Goodman
Lawrence Reyes		Lawrence Reyes		Steve Pride	Reza Pour
				Lawrence Reyes	Lawrence Reyes
				Fernando Velaszquez	Fernando Velaszquez

VI. Motion to Adjourn at 1:10

A motion to adjourn was made and seconded and approved by unanimous consent.

Appendix A - Required Notices

Proper notice of this meeting was posted on the KPFK Calendar and at the Pacifica Calendar as required.