Pacifica National Board—Teleconference (Open Session)

8:30 PM EDT, 7:30 PM CDT, 5:30 PM PDT (scheduled)

Originating in Various Locations

Thursday, December 1, 2011

Meeting Minutes

I. Call to Order and Opening Business

The meeting was called to order by the Chair at 5:41 PM Pacific Standard Time.

a. Roll Call / Establish Quorum

Twenty-one members were present, constituting a quorum: Laura Prives (KPFA), Tracy Rosenberg (KPFA), Dan Siegel (KPFA), Andrea Turner (KPFA), Ken Aaron (KPFK), Rodrigo Argueta (KPFK), Lydia Brazon (KPFK), Summer Reese (Chair, KPFK), Teresa Allen (KPFT), Jessica Apolinar (KPFT), Wesley Bethune (KPFT), Bill Crosier (Vice-Chair KPFT), Nia Bediako (WBAI), Carolyn Birden (WBAI), Kathy Davis (WBAI), Alex Steinberg (WBAI), Campbell Johnson (WPFW), Kimory Orendoff (WPFW), Marcel Reid (WPFW), Bruce Wolf (WPFW), Efia Nwangaza (Affiliates, Secretary).

One member was excused: Heather Gray (Affiliates).

Also present: Arlene Engelhardt (Pacifica Executive Director), LaVarn Williams (Pacifica CFO).

b. Designate Timekeeper

Crosier acted as timekeeper

Audio Recording: The audio for this meeting can be accessed at KPFTX.org

[Audio Part 1]

The Agenda of the previous meeting was carried over.

Johnson requested that Standing Rules be moved up from Unfinished Business and be considered. The Chair referred to a previous ruling on this matter. The Chair further stated that any attempt to move up items that were debated, but not moved, at the last meeting will be ruled dilatory.

Point of order from Johnson: Everything on the agenda is a continuation of the last meeting. A 2/3 vote is required to amend the Agenda.

Johnson **challenged** the ruling of the Chair. The ruling of the Chair was **sustained** by a roll call vote: Yes—10, No—8, Abstain—0.

Yes—Aaron, Allen, Apolinar, Bethune, Birden, Crosier, Davis, Rosenberg, Steinberg, Wolf.

No—Argueta, Bediako, Brazon, Johnson, Nwangaza, Prives, Siegel, Turner. Present not voting—Reese.

Heather Gray's request for an excused absence was accepted without objection.

II. Proposed Bylaws Amendments

The texts of the Proposed Amendments can be found at http://www.pacifica.org/pnb_amendments.php

Each Amendment was read aloud by the Chair and discussion followed. Pacifica Bylaws Article 17, Section 1, subsection B, paragraph (2)(i) requires a majority vote of all delegates, not just those delegates present. Twelve (12) affirmative votes are required for passage.

a. Amendment 1

After discussion time had expired, Johnson **moved** to extend five minutes. Motion **failed** on a roll call vote: Yes—9, No—9, Abstain—1.

Yes—Allen, Bethune, Brazon, Johnson, Nwangaza, Orendoff, Prives, Reid, Turner. No—Aaron, Apolinar, Argueta, Bediako, Birden, Crosier, Rosenberg, Steinberg, Wolf. Abstain—Davis.

Present not voting—Reese.

Amendment 1 **failed** by a roll call vote: (12 votes required): Yes—11, No—8, Abstain—0.

Yes—Allen, Argueta, Bediako, Bethune, Brazon, Johnson, Nwangaza, Orendoff, Prives, Reid, Turner.

No—Aaron, Apolinar, Birden, Crosier, Davis, Rosenberg, Steinberg, Wolf. Present not voting—Reese.

b. Amendment 2

Point of order from Aaron: There should be a pro and con discussion for each Amendment. The Chair agreed to facilitate this.

Amendment 2 **failed** by a roll call vote: (12 votes required): Yes—10, No—8, Abstain—1.

Yes—Aaron, Allen, Apolinar, Bethune, Birden, Crosier, Davis, Reese, Rosenberg, Steinberg.

No—Argueta, Bediako, Brazon, Johnson, Nwangaza, Prives, Turner, Wolf. Abstain--Orendoff

Point of personal privilege from Nwangaza: Objected to the time spend lecturing the board (by the Chair) and objected to comments by the Chair she considered denigrating (to the board). The Chair claimed to have been reminding the board of time expenditure, not lecturing.

c. Amendment 3

[Audio Part 2]

Amendment 3 **failed** by a roll call vote (12 votes required): Yes—10, No—9, Abstain—0.

Yes—Aaron, Apolinar, Birden, Crosier, Davis, Orendoff, Reese, Rosenberg, Steinberg, Wolf.

No—Allen, Argueta, Bediako, Bethune, Brazon, Johnson, Nwangaza, Prives, Turner.

d. Amendment 4

Amendment 4 **failed** by a roll call vote: (12 votes required): Yes--11, No—5, Abstain—3.

Yes—Aaron, Allen, Apolinar, Birden, Crosier, Davis, Orendoff, Reese, Rosenberg, Steinberg, Wolf.

No—Bediako, Brazon, Johnson, Prives, Turner.

Abstain—Argueta, Bethune, Nwangaza.

e. Amendment 5

Amendment 5 was **approved** without objection.

f. Amendment 6

Amendment 6 was approved without objection.

g. Amendment 7

Amendment 7 **failed** by a roll call vote (12 votes required): Yes—10, No—6, Abstain—2.

Yes—Aaron, Allen, Apolinar, Birden, Crosier, Davis, Reese, Rosenberg, Steinberg, Wolf.

No—Bediako, Bethune, Brazon, Johnson, Prives, Turner.

Abstain—Argueta, Nwangaza.

h. Amendment 8

[Audio Part 3]

Amendment 8 **passed** by a roll call vote: (12 votes required): Yes—12, No—6, Abstain—0.

Yes—Aaron, Allen, Apolinar, Argueta, Bethune, Birden, Crosier, Davis, Reese, Rosenberg, Steinberg, Wolf.

No—Bediako, Brazon, Johnson, Nwangaza, Prives, Turner.

i. Amendment 9

Amendment 9 was approved without objection.

j. Amendment 10

Point of order from Campbell: Two people speaking in favor have already spoken. Speaking time should be divided equally, a time extension should not be required to accomplish this.

Johnson moved to extend five minutes. Motion **failed** on a roll call vote: Yes—9, No—9.

Yes—Allen, Argueta, Bediako, Bethune, Brazon, Johnson, Nwangaza, Prives, Turner. No—Aaron, Apolinar, Birden, Crosier, Davis, Reese, Rosenberg, Steinberg, Wolf.

Amendment 10 **failed** by a roll call vote: (12 votes required): Yes—9, No—6, Abstain—3.

Yes—Aaron, Allen, Apolinar, Birden, Crosier, Davis, Rosenberg, Steinberg, Wolf. No—Argueta, Bediako, Brazon, Johnson, Prives, Turner. Abstain—Bethune, Nwangaza, Reese.

Without objection the open session was extended eleven minutes.

III. Board Chair Report - Chair - Summer Reese

The next In-Person Meeting was scheduled to be in Los Angeles, Thursday January 27, 2011 to Monday January 31, 2011, location TBD, without objection.

The meeting was adjourned without objection at 8:20 PM. Immediately thereafter the board reconvened in executive session.

Respectfully submitted by Efia Nwangaza, Secretary John P. Garry III, Recording Secretary (these minutes were approved on January 12, 2012)