Approved Minutes
Pacifica National Board Special Meeting – Call-In Meeting
Open/Public Session,
Thursday March 30, 2017 – 8:30 PM ET

Audio of the meeting are archived at:

https://kpftx.org/archives/pnb/pnb170330/pnb170330a.mp3 https://kpftx.org/archives/pnb/pnb170330/pnb170330b.mp3

1. Open/Public Session Call to Order.

Chair Jonathan Alexander called the meeting to order. Secretary Akio Tanaka called the roll.

A. Roll call [2:00]

Present: Grace Aaron, Jonathan Alexander, David Beaton, Jim Brown, Adriana Casenave, Bill Crosier, Kathryn Davis, Benito Diaz, Rhonda Garner, *Jan Goodman, *Sabrina Jacobs, Ken Laufer, Robert Mark, Cerene Roberts, Mansoor Sabbagh, Nancy Sorden, *Alex Steinberg, Akio Tanaka, Themba Tshibanda, Andrea Turner, Maskeelah-Myrtle Washington

Absent: Bill Campisi, *Arrived after the Roll Call

[Present: 21]

B. Identify Timekeepers - Sabrina Jacobs, Mansoor Sabbagh

C. Excused absences - None

Point of Order by Adriana Casenave [5:00]

"To ask the Chair to stop the violation of the Pacifica Foundation Bylaws by using a telephonic system of communication that prevents to comply with: Article Six, Meetings of the Board of Directors, Section 3: Telephonic Meetings."

The Chair's response: "Your point is not well taken. This phone system does not prevent that. It ensures that all people can be heard and prevent you from speaking over each other."

Vote to affirm Chair's ruling against the Point of Order:

Yes: Grace Aaron, Jonathan Alexander, David Beaton, Bill Crosier, Kathryn Davis, Rhonda Garner, Jan Goodman, Sabrina Jacobs, Ken Laufer, Robert Mark, Mansoor Sabbagh, Alex Steinberg, Akio Tanaka, Andrea Turner

No: Jim Brown, Adriana Casenave, Benito Diaz, Cerene Roberts, Nancy Sorden, Themba Tshibanda, Maskeelah-Myrtle Washington

[14Y – 7N: Chair ruling upheld]

Point of Information by Cerene Roberts [20:00]

Cerene Roberts questions the discrepancy between number of people at Roll Call and number of people voting on the Point of Order. Resolved after several people identified themselves as joining the meeting after the Roll Call.

Point of Order by Adriana Casenave [28:00]

"Article 6 Section 4: Notice: that says specifically that purpose of special meeting was not stated in the original notice. According to the Bylaws "no additional business not stated in the notice shall be conducted at special meeting" that is why I am asking the Chair to stop immediately this illegally called PNB meeting where no purposes was noticed."

Chair's response: "You are out of order and we are not stopping this meeting, because we have quite a bit of business to discuss, we can take this to an immediate vote."

Vote to affirm Chair's ruling against the Point of Order:

Yes: Grace Aaron, Jonathan Alexander, David Beaton, Bill Crosier, Kathryn Davis, Rhonda Garner, Jan Goodman, Sabrina Jacobs, Ken Laufer, Robert Mark, Mansoor Sabbagh, Alex Steinberg, Akio Tanaka, **No:** Jim Brown, Adriana Casenave, Benito Diaz, Cerene Roberts, Nancy Sorden, Themba Tshibanda, Andrea Turner, Mackaglah Myrtla Washington

Turner, Maskeelah-Myrtle Washington

Abstain: Robert Mark

[12Y-8N-1A: Chair ruling upheld]

Point of Order by Nancy Sorden [44:00]

"We are in continuing to be in breach of the Bylaws because we threw off two Directors, Efia Wangaza and Sharon Brown, who were duly elected, without proper procedure."

Chair's response: "We will immediately go to a vote."

Vote to affirm Chair's ruling against the Point of Order:

Yes: Grace Aaron, David Beaton, Bill Crosier, Kathryn Davis, Rhonda Garner, Jan Goodman, Sabrina Jacobs, Ken Laufer, Robert Mark, Mansoor Sabbagh, Alex Steinberg, Akio Tanaka,

No: Jim Brown, Adriana Casenave, Benito Diaz, Cerene Roberts, Nancy Sorden, Themba Tshibanda, Andrea Turner, Maskeelah-Myrtle Washington

Not Voting: Jonathan Alexander, [12Y - 8N- 1NV: Chair ruling upheld]

Call for the Orders of the Day by Grace Aaron [50:00]

Yes: Grace Aaron, Jonathan Alexander, David Beaton, Bill Crosier, Kathryn Davis, Rhonda Garner, Jan Goodman, Sabrina Jacobs, Ken Laufer, Mansoor Sabbagh, Alex Steinberg, Akio Tanaka, Andrea Turner **No:** Jim Brown, Adriana Casenave, Benito Diaz, Robert Mark, Cerene Roberts, Nancy Sorden, Themba Tshibanda, Maskeelah-Myrtle Washington [13Y - 8N]

2. Agenda Approval [58:00]

Vote on the Approval of the Agenda

Yes: Grace Aaron, Jonathan Alexander, David Beaton, Bill Crosier, Kathryn Davis, Rhonda Garner, Jan Goodman, Sabrina Jacobs, Ken Laufer, Mansoor Sabbagh, Alex Steinberg, Akio Tanaka, Andrea Turner **No:** Jim Brown, Adriana Casenave, Benito Diaz, Robert Mark, Cerene Roberts, Nancy Sorden, Themba Tshibanda, Maskeelah-Myrtle Washington

[13Y - 8N: Agenda approved]

3. Minute Approval [1:00:00]

Vote on the Approval of the 03/23/17 Minutes

Yes: Grace Aaron, Jonathan Alexander, David Beaton, Kathryn Davis, Rhonda Garner, Jan Goodman, Sabrina Jacobs, Ken Laufer, Mansoor Sabbagh, Alex Steinberg, Akio Tanaka,

No: Jim Brown, Adriana Casenave, Benito Diaz, Cerene Roberts, Themba Tshibanda,

Abstain: Bill Crosier, Robert Mark, Nancy Sorden, Andrea Turner, Maskeelah-Myrtle Washington [11Y - 5N – 5A: Minutes approved]

4. Motion on PNB Committees [1:06:00]

Vote on the PNB Committee motion

Yes: Grace Aaron, Jonathan Alexander, David Beaton, Bill Crosier, Kathryn Davis, Rhonda Garner, Jan Goodman, Sabrina Jacobs, Ken Laufer, Robert Mark, Mansoor Sabbagh, Alex Steinberg, Akio Tanaka, Andrea Turner

No: Jim Brown, Adriana Casenave, Benito Diaz, Cerene Roberts, Nancy Sorden, Themba Tshibanda, Maskeelah-Myrtle Washington

[14Y - 7N: Motion passes]

5. Adjourn to closed session [1:24:00]

Yes: Grace Aaron, Jonathan Alexander, David Beaton, Bill Crosier, Kathryn Davis, Rhonda Garner, Jan Goodman, Sabrina Jacobs, Ken Laufer, Robert Mark, Mansoor Sabbagh, Alex Steinberg, Akio Tanaka, Andrea Turner

No: Jim Brown, Adriana Casenave, Benito Diaz, Cerene Roberts, Nancy Sorden, Themba Tshibanda, Maskeelah-Myrtle Washington [14Y - 7N: Motion passes]

6. <u>iED Report</u> [Not discussed]

8. Nominations and elections for PNB Committees

Committees nomination deadline is Midnight March 31. Committee elections will follow the officers election protocol.

9. Adjourn

By unanimous consent

Akio Tanaka – 05/010/17 PNB Secretary

Motion- PNB Committees

Whereas PNB committees are crucial to the work of the board of directors and; Whereas governance work is slowed down when large PNB committees fail to meet quorum and;

Whereas the Pacifica Bylaws encourage equal representation from all 5 stations on national bodies and; Whereas the PNB values the input of local delegates and does not want to dilute their votes by a surfeit of directors on advisory committees;

It is moved the PNB rescind the 2014 motion allowing multiple directors from the same station to serve on each PNB committee and restricts PNB committee membership, when committee composition is not otherwise specified in the bylaws, to one director from each station to be chosen by all of the directors and up to two non-director delegates from each station to be chosen by all of the delegates at that station, using IRV elections when there are more candidates than available seats.