Approved Minutes
Pacifica National Board Special Call-In Meeting
Open/Public Session,
Thursday, January 4, 2018 – 8:30 PM ET

Audio of the meeting are archived at:

https://kpftx.org/archives/pnb/pnb180104/pnb180104a.mp3 https://kpftx.org/archives/pnb/pnb180104/pnb180104b.mp3

1. Open/Public Session Call to Order.

Pro tem Chair Nancy Sorden called the meeting to order. Secretary Akio Tanaka called the roll.

A. Roll call

Present: Grace Aaron, Jonathan Alexander, Jim Brown, Adriana Casenave, Bill Crosier, Kathryn Davis, Benito Diaz, Rhonda Garner, Sabrina Jacobs, Ken Laufer, Cerene Roberts, Mansoor Sabbagh, TM Scruggs, Nancy Sorden, Alex Steinberg, Akio Tanaka, Themba Tshibanda, Andrea Turner, Maskeelah Washington

Absent: David Beaton, Jan Goodman

[Present: 19]

Arrived after the Roll Call

- B. Identify Timekeepers Mansoor Sabbagh, Akio Tanaka
- C. Excused Absences

2. Agenda Approval

Chair rules Item 5: Bylaws Amendment out of order. Bill Crosier objects.

Vote to support ruling of Chair

Yes: Jim Brown, Adriana Casenave, Benito Diaz, Cerene Roberts, Nancy Sorden, Maskeelah Washington **No:** Grace Aaron, Jonathan Alexander, Bill Crosier, Kathryn Davis, Rhonda Garner, Sabrina Jacobs, Ken Laufer, Mansoor Sabbagh, TM Scruggs, Alex Steinberg, Aki Tanaka, Andrea Turner [6Y – 12N: Chair's ruling not upheld]

Motion Move item 9: Loan& Bankruptcy, 10: Legal Questions from Closed to Open session by Rhonda Garner

Yes: Jonathan Alexander, Bill Crosier, Rhonda Garner, Sabrina Jacobs, TM Scruggs, Aki Tanaka, Andrea Turner

No: Grace Aaron, Jim Brown, Adriana Casenave, Kathryn Davis, Benito Diaz, Ken Laufer, Mansoor Sabbagh, Nancy Sorden, Alex Steinberg, Themba Tshibanda, Maskeelah Washington

Abstain: Cerene Roberts [7Y – 11N -1A: Motion fails]

Motion: Table Item 3, 4: Minutes Approval, 5: Bylaws Amendment and Move 6: Appointment of Trustees and 7: Bankruptcy Authorization to Closed Session by Grace Aaron

Point of Order: Time is up so no new amendments by Bill Crosier

Chair rules against Crosier

Vote to uphold chair

Yes: Grace Aaron, Jim Brown, Adriana Casenave, Kathryn Davis, Benito Diaz, Ken Laufer, Cerene Roberts, Mansoor Sabbagh, Nancy Sorden, Alex Steinberg, Themba Tshibanda, Maskeelah Washington

No: Jonathan Alexander, Bill Crosier, Rhonda Garner, Sabrina Jacobs, TM Scruggs, Aki Tanaka, Andrea Turner [12Y -7N: Chair is upheld]

Motion to divide Grace Motion by Bill Crosier

Yes: Adriana Casenave, Cerene Roberts, Themba Tshibanda

No: Grace Aaron, Jonathan Alexander, Jim Brown, Bill Crosier, Kathryn Davis, Benito Diaz, Rhonda Garner, Sabrina Jacobs, Ken Laufer, Mansoor Sabbagh, TM Scruggs, Nancy Sorden, Alex Steinberg, Akio Tanaka, Andrea Turner, Maskeelah Washington

[3Y -16N Motion fails]

Vote on Grace Motion to Table and Move

Yes: Grace Aaron, Jim Brown, Adriana Casenave, Kathryn Davis, Benito Diaz, Ken Laufer, Mansoor Sabbagh, Nancy Sorden, Alex Steinberg, Maskeelah Washington

No: Jonathan Alexander, Bill Crosier, Rhonda Garner, Sabrina Jacobs, Cerene Roberts, TM Scruggs, Aki Tanaka, Themba Tshibanda, Andrea Turner

[10Y - 9N: Motion passes]

Motion to make Open Session 10:30 time certain by Alex Steinberg

Yes: Grace Aaron, Jim Brown, Adriana Casenave, Kathryn Davis, Benito Diaz, Ken Laufer, Cerene Roberts, Mansoor Sabbagh, Nancy Sorden, Alex Steinberg, Themba Tshibanda, Maskeelah Washington **No:** Jonathan Alexander, Bill Crosier, Rhonda Garner, Sabrina Jacobs, TM Scruggs, Aki Tanaka, Andrea Turner [12Y – 7N: Motion passes]

Agenda approved as amended without objection.

3: Motion: Official Statement Policy by Grace Aaron

All managers, employees and board members of Pacifica must state clearly that any comments they make to media (including Pacifica programs) about the current Pacifica situation regarding the ESRT summary judgment are not made in their official capacity but only as their personal opinion. Official statements can only be made after they are approved by the PNB.

Amendment: Remove sentence 'Official statements can only be made after they are approved by the PNB.' by Bill Crosier

Yes: Jonathan Alexander, Bill Crosier, Rhonda Garner, Sabrina Jacobs, Mansoor Sabbagh, TM Scruggs, Alex Steinberg, Aki Tanaka, Andrea Turner

No: Grace Aaron, Jim Brown, Adriana Casenave, Benito Diaz, Jan Goodman, Nancy Sorden, Themba Tshibanda, Maskeelah Washington

Abstain: Kathryn Davis, Ken Laufer, Cerene Roberts

[9Y - 8N - 3A: Amendment passes]

Vote on the Main Motion as amended

Yes: Grace Aaron, Jim Brown, Adriana Casenave, Kathryn Davis, Benito Diaz, Jan Goodman, Ken Laufer, Mansoor Sabbagh, Nancy Sorden, Alex Steinberg, Themba Tshibanda, Maskeelah Washington **No:** Jonathan Alexander, Bill Crosier, Rhonda Garner, Sabrina Jacobs, TM Scruggs, Aki Tanaka, Andrea Turner **Abstain:** Cerene Roberts

[12Y - 7N -1A: Motion passes]

5. Adjourn

Adjourned to closed session at 10:42 PM ET.

Akio Tanaka – 01/09/17 PNB Secretary