1/5/05 WPFW LSB Meeting - Minutes

WPFW Local Station Board Meeting

January 5, 2005, 7:00 p.m. Josephine Parks Butler Building, 2nd floor 2437 15th Street, NW, Washington, DC 20009

Board members in attendance:

Acie Byrd

Ambrose Lane

Ayo Handy Kendi

Billy Ray Edwards

Cade Campbell

Carol Wolfe

Dan Logan

Gloria Turner

Hakam Takash

Jane Gatewood

Jim Brown

Joe Chiara

Joni Eisenberg

Katea Stitt

Kalonji Olusegun

Luzette King

Mark Berman

Mark Roberts

Norberto Martinez

Rob Robinson

Sarah Bittle

Steve Hoffman

Thomas Ruffin

Zarinah Shakir

Ron Pinchback, WPFW General Manager and non-voting LSB member, was also in attendance.

Angela Lauria attends as a volunteer to facilitate the elections of PNB representatives, Chair, Vice Chair, Treasurer, and Secretary, using the single transferable vote method.

1. Election of Chair

Candidates nominated are Jim Brown, Thomas Ruffin, Jr., Luzette King, and Jane Gatewood. Each candidate presents a 2-minute statement. Q & A follows. Jim Brown is elected.

2. Election of PNB Listener Delegates

From among a pool of candidates nominated via e-mail prior to December 31st, as specified in the

Bylaws, those who accepted are: Zarinah Shakir, Mark Roberts, Rob Robinson, Luzette King, Kalonji Olusegun, and Billy Ray Edwards. Each candidate presents a 2-minute statement. Q & A follows. Zarinah Shakir, Mark Roberts, and Rob Robinson are elected.

3. Election of PNB Staff Delegate

Ambrose Lane, Sr. is nominated and runs unopposed. Ambrose Lane, Sr. is elected.

4. Election of Secretary

Candidates nominated are Steve Hoffman, Hakam Takash, and Carol Wolfe.

At 9:50 p.m., Jim Brown notes that the LSB has the use of the room until 10:00 p.m. LSB agrees to hold the election of Secretary, Vice Chair, and Treasurer for the next meeting.

Meeting is adjourned.