Minutes

WPFW Local Station Board Meeting

January 4, 2006 7:00 p.m.

The Flemming Center, Washington, DC

Call to Order: 7:06 p.m.

1. Board members in attendance:

Jim Brown

Carol Wolfe

Kalonji Olusegun

Zarinah Shakir

Thomas Ruffin

Joni Eisenberg

Mark Roberts Norberto Martinez

Joe Chiara

Cade Campbell

Donnie McKethan

Dan Logan

Gloria Turner

Mark Berman Luzette King

Jane Gatewood

Sarah Bittle

Billy Ray Edwards

Rob Robinson

Norberto Martinez

Excused absences: Ambrose Lane, Ayo Handy Kendi.

Unexcused: Hakam Takash

Ron Pinchback, General Manager was not in attendance as the purpose of the meeting is to elect LSB officers and PNB representatives.

The LSB is reminded that the PNB meeting will be in Washington on January 27 – 29

Station clean-up is planned for Friday (Jan 6) 4-8 and Saturday (Jan 7) 8 – afternoon.

2. Election of Chair of the LSB

Cade Campbell is nominated Jane Gatewood is nominated and declines Joe Chiara is nominated and declines Carol Wolfe is nominated Mark B moves that nominations be closed.

Without objection, nominations close.

Cade is candidate A
Carol is candidate B

Candidate statements will be two minutes, followed by questions and answers.

Ray Whitfield and Dorcas Dessaso collected the ballots and monitored the tabulations.

Candidate A had 7 votes.

Candidate B: 11 votes.

Carol takes over as chair.

3. Election of Vice-Chair of the LSB

Mark Berman is nominated Cade Campbell is nominated and declines Mark Roberts is nominated and declines Hakam Takash is nominated Jim Brown is nominated

Cade is asked to re-consider. She agrees.

Mark B and Jim both remove their names in favor of Cade.

Carol moves that nominations be closed.

Without objection, nominations close.

Hakam is candidate A Cade is candidate B

Candidate statements are waived.

Candidate A: 2 votes. Candidate B: 18 votes

4. Election of Treasurer of the LSB

Jane Gatewood is nominated

Luzette moves that nominations be closed.

Without objection, nominations close.

Jane is elected by acclimation

5. Election of Secretary

Sarah, Mark R, Norberto, Dorcas Dessaso, Dan, Luzette, Joe, Gloria, Mark B, Thomas, Hakam, and Jim are all nominated and decline.

Joni moves that election of secretary be postponed until next meeting, during which time effort be made to secure non-LSB member willing to accept position.

Jane agrees to continue serving as acting secretary.

Motion passed without objection.

6. Election of Staff Representative to PNB

Ambrose Lane is nominated.

Nominations Closed.

Ambrose is elected by acclimation.

7. Election of Listener Representative to PNB

Nominated, but declined:

Jim Brown, Sarah Bittle, Gloria Turner, Joe Chiara, Dan Logan, Thomas Ruffin

Nominated, accepted:

Candidate A: Rob Robinson

Candidate B: Billy Ray

Candidate C: Zarinah Shakir

Candidate D: Kalonji Olusegun

Candidate E: Norberto Martinez

Candidate F: Acie Byrd

Each candidate makes 2 minute statement.

Vote taken as to whether we will have question and answer period.

7 in favor; 9 opposed.

Move to vote without Q&A

Extended Discussion during vote tally

Jim reports that voting software has malfunctioned. He will take ballots to Angela Luria for re-entry and will email results to Carol, who will forward to all members tomorrow.

10:05 Meeting adjourns