Minutes

WPFW Local Station Board Meeting 2390 Champlain Street NW, Washington, DC 20009 18 December 2006

Meeting convened about 7:45, Carol Wolfe serving as Chair.

Introduction of new members. The Chair reported the results of the election just completed (9 members elected to terms expiring December 2009) and the filling of 2 vacancies caused by the resignations this year of members whose terms will end in December 2007:

These 8 members were elected in 2004 as Listener-Sponsor Delegates for terms expiring December 2007. [8 seats, listed from highest vote total down]:

- 1. Gloria Turner
- 2. Thomas Ruffin, Jr.
- 3. Joseph "Joe" Chiara
- 4. C. Jane Gatewood
- 5. Zarinah Shakir
- 6. Luzette King
- 7. Carol Wolfe
- 8. Ayo Handi-Kendi

The following Listener (runner-up vote-getter in that electoral round) has agreed to complete the term, ending December 2007, of resigned member Cade Campbell:

9. Ann Hyslop

These 9 members were elected in 2006 as Listener-Sponsor Delegates for terms expiring in December 2009 [9 seats, from highest vote total down; an asterisk (*) indicates a new Member]:

- 10 Gail Dixon*
- 11. Acie Byrd
- 12. Billy Ray Edwards
- 13. Dan Logan
- 14. Rob Robinson
- 15. Alonzo Brown*
- 16. Zaccai Free*
- 17. Adriane C. Jemmott*
- 18 Arturo Griffiths*

These 2 members were elected in 2004 as Staff Delegates for terms expiring December 2007 [2 seats, from higest vote total down]:

- 19. Joni Eisenberg
- 20. Hakam Takash

The following Staff member has agreed to complete the term, ending 2007, of resigned member Steve Hoffman (who had been replaced by Donnie McKethan, who also resigned):

21. Michelle "Noodles" Smith

These 3 Staff members were elected in 2006 for terms expiring in 2009 [3seats, from highest vote total down]:

- 22. Ambrose Lane
- 23. Jim Brown
- 24. Norberto Martinez

The Chair welcomed the new members, and the Secretary called the roll.

Members Present: Acie Byrd, Adriane Jemmot, Alonzo Brown, Ann Hyslop, Arturo Griffiths, Ayo Handy-Kendi, Billy Ray Edwards, Carol Wolfe, Dan Logan, Gail Dixon, Gloria Turner, Hakam Takash, Jane Gatewood, Joni Eisenberg, Luzette King, Michelle (Noodles) Smith, Rob Robinson, Thomas Ruffin, Zaccai Free, Zarinah Shakir.

Absent: Joe Chiara, Norberto Martinez.

Excused Absences: Ambrose Lane, Jim Brown.

Also Present: Ron Pinchback, WPFW General Manager, and Carl Pfluger, LSB Secretary.

Approval of Agenda: Amended (by vote of 9-2) to include a discussion of policy on absences, the Agenda was approved without objection.

Approval of November Minutes: Moved by Jane, seconded by Zarinah, approved without objection.

Replacement of Joe Chiara by Marcello Tolliver: After about 15 minutes of discussion touching on the lack of a consistently enforced policy on excusing absences, the Chair ruled that Joe Chiara, having a record of 3 consecutive unexcused absences from regularly scheduled meetings (October, November, December) has, in accordance with the Bylaws (Art. 4, Sec. 9), ceased to be a member of the LSB. His place as a Listener-Member was taken by the next-ranking candidate in this month's election, Marcello Tolliver.

Election of LSB Officers. (Ballots were counted by Ikeso Alston, our Elections Coordinator.)

Chair: Joni Eisenberg nominated Zarinah Shakir; Thomas Ruffin nominated Hakam Takash; Billy Ray Edwards nominated Jane Gatewood. Results: Zarinah, 14; Jane, 6; Hakam, 1. Zarinah Shakir immediately assumed the Chair, and presided over the remainder of the meeting.

Vice Chair: Rob Robinson nominated Arturo Griffiths; Jane Gatewood nominated Michelle ("Noodles") Smith; Ayo Handy-Kendi nominated Zaccai Free. (Dan Logan also nominated Joni Eisenberg, who declined; and Luzette King nominated Jane Gatewood, who at first accepted, but later withdrew.) Results: Zaccai, 9; Arturo, 8; Noodles, 4. Zaccai Free immediately assumed the Vice Chairmanship.

Treasurer & Secretary: Without objection or opposition, Jane Gatewood was unanimously re-elected Treasurer, and Carl Pfluger was likewise sentenced to a second term as Secretary.

Community Comment: No members of the public chose to make any comments.

Adjournment: At Zarinah's suggestion, it was agreed to defer to the next meeting the executive session to discuss the report of the Management Assessment and Search Committee (MASC), and the meeting adjourned about 10:45 P.M.