Minutes for the WBAI 12<sup>th</sup> Local Station Board Monthly Meeting in public session on December 8, 2021.

Meeting convened at 8:17 PM EST a quorum being present, the Vice-Chair being present.

\_\_\_\_\_

Attending: Charlotte Albrecht, Rachel Barr, Scottye Battle, Doc Shya, John Brinkley, Jack DePalma, Jack Devine, James Dingeman, DeeDee Halleck, Maxine Harrison-Gallmon, William Heerwagen, R. Paul Martin, Basir Mchawi, Nic Nicoludis, Katherine O'Sullivan, Hazel Pinder, Shawn Rhodes, James Sagurton, Max Schmid, Marilyn Vogt-Downey, Michael D.D. White and Amy Wilson.

Final Agenda (adopted at 8:29 PM EST):

## Agenda:

WBAI Local Station Board ("LSB")

8:00 PM (Following Delegates assembly), Wednesday, December 8, 2021 Meeting Remote Participation Meeting Via Zoom

- 1. Convene meeting (LSB Vice-Chair convenes).
- 2. Adopt Agenda. (20 minutes)
- 3. Roll Call. (5 minutes)
- 4. Excuse absences. (5 minutes)
- 5. Welcome New LSB Members Being Seated (and some Members continue) (10 minutes)
- 6. Approve outstanding minutes: November 10, 2021 Meeting. (4 minutes)
- 7. Accept Nominations for Election of LSB Officers and Setting up of up to Four Sequential Confidential (OpaVote) IRV Elections. (Also explanation of background that PNB Representative Elections occur in January Meeting; Population of Committees and Task Forces will be in February Meeting. (20 Minutes):
- a. Chair
- b. Vice-Chair
- c. Treasurer
- d. Secretary
- 8. Report from Pacifica National Board Directors. (5 minutes) Alex Steinberg, Ralph Poynter, Shawn Rhodes, James Sagurton
- 9. Possible Monday December 20, 2021 Executive Session respecting PD search (3 minutes) –Shawn Rhodes
- 10. General Manager's Report. (5 minutes for report & 2 minutes for discussion) Berthold Reimers
- 11. Treasurer's Report. (3 Minutes report 2 minutes discussion) R. Paul Martin
- 12. Programming Updates. (3 minutes report, 3 minutes Q&A) Linda Perry
- 13. Report of the Community Advisory Board. (2 minutes) Neale Vos
- 14. Resolution Respecting Contact Email for LSB (10 minutes) -Rachel Barr
- 15. Report from Committee of Inclusion (2 minutes) William Heerwagen
- 16. Public Comment. (30 minutes, 2 minutes maximum per speaker before next in queue to speak. Must always begin no later than 9:15 PM.)
- 17. New Business. (5 minutes)
- 18. Adjourn no later than 9:45 PM. (ET)

------

Motion: (Michael D.D. White) "To adopt the agenda for the meeting of the 12<sup>th</sup> LSB" 8:22 PM EST

The LSB discussed the motion.

**Amendment:** (Michael DD White) "to add report from Committee of Inclusion for 2 minutes as item 15" 8:23PM EST (passed without objection)

**Motion:** (Michael D.D. White) "To adopt the agenda for the meeting of the 12<sup>th</sup> LSB" 8:22 PM EST (passed without objection)

## **Roll Call**

Motion: (Michael D.D. White) "To excuse absences" 8:29 PM EST (passed without objection)

New Members are welcomed to the Board.

No minutes are available for approval 8:38PM EST

Nominations for Directors

For Chair:

Marilyn Vogt Downey nominated James Dingeman-- declined nomination Michael DD White nominated DeeDee Halleck as Chair—accepted nomination John Brinkley nominated Doc Shya as Chair—accepted nomination

To be determined by Opavote

**Motion:** (R. Paul Martin) "to close nominations for Chair" 8:42 PM EST (passed without objection)

For Vice-Chair:

Jack DePalma nominated Michael DD White –accepted nomination Hazel Pinder nominates John Brinkley—declined nomination John Brinkley nominates Rachel Barr – accepts nomination

To be determined by Opavote

**Motion:** (R. Paul Martin) "to close nominations for Vice Chair" 8:45 PM EST (passed without objection)

For Treasurer:

Michael DD White nominates R. Paul Martin –accepts nomination R. Paul Martin is elected by acclaim 8:46PM EST

For Secretary:

Jack De Palma nominated John Hoffman—accepts nomination John Brinkley nominates William Heerwagen—declines nomination Doc Shya nominates Charlotte Albrecht –declines nomination

**Motion:** (R. Paul Martin) "to close nominations for Secretary" 8:50 PM EST (passed without objection)

John Hoffman is elected Secretary by acclaim

PNB Report and Discussion: 8:52PM EST

- --discussion of financial condition, the possibility of bond sale, and long term loan
- --discussion of lawsuits
- --discussion of draft Report on Elections from National elections Supervisor

**Motion:** (Jack De Palma) "To extend time by two minutes" 8:57 PM EST (passed without objection)

**Motion:** (John Brinkley) "To extend time by one minute" 9:02 PM EST (passed without objection)

Discussion of Executive Session for December 20, 2021

**Motion:** (Shawn Rhodes) "to schedule an Executive Session on Tuesday January 4, 2022 from 7:00PM to 9:30PM to discuss the Program Director Search Committee final report and it's recommendation. The non- LSB Committee members will be invited and non member secretary of the LSB will be invited" 9:05 PM EST (passed without objection)

General Manager's Report 9:09 PM EST

- --discussion of financial condition, and tower rent
- --discussion of importance of Company Match programs (could improve donations by 10-20 percent)

Listener Comments 9:15 PM EST

- --comments on the phone system
- --comments on the financial condition of station and Pacifica and the need to raise more money
- --comments on difficulty with programming process

Neale Voss presented the CAB Report during the Public Comments period. The Committee is working to fulfill the CPB requirement to evaluate the station on whether the programming and significant station policy—is meeting the specialized educational and cultural needs of the communities served by the station. Has started this process by identifying those communities. This process will continue.

- --comments on by-laws amendments
- --comments on posting of upcoming Finance Committee meeting notices
- --comments on everyone working more closely and together throughout the network

Motion: (Michael DD White) "To adjourn meeting" 9:44 PM EST

Motion: (John Brinkley) "to extend meeting time by ten minutes" 9:44 PM EST

Vote on Motion to Adjourn: must be voted on before the motion to extend time (motion passes, 10 yes, 9 no, 2 abstention) 9:49PM EST

Adjourned 9:50 PM (ET) Submitted by John Hoffman, Secretary