

Main phone: (818) 985-2711 - Fax: (818) 763-7526 - Studio phone: (818) 985-5735

### APPROVED MINUTES

### **KPFK Governance Committee**

Meeting of May 11, 2022

( Teleconference via Zoom )

### I. Call to Order 6:00 PM

Michael Novick presiding. The Chair calls for the roll:

**Members Present:** Grace Aaron, Fred Blair (late), Sue Cohen-Johnson, Bella De Soto, Raymond Goldstone, Ralph Hawkins (Secretary), Michael Heiss, Eric C. Jacobson, Kim Kaufman (Treasurer), Michael Novick, Myla Reson, Lawrence Reyes (late), Jeanine Rohn, Ruth Strauss, and Beth von Gunten.

**Members Absent:** Allan Beek, Marisol Cruz, and Paul Roberson

**Also Present:** John Tatum, PNB Parliamentarian, Jonathan Markowitz, and Andrew Weiss.

# II. Approve Draft Agenda

The Chair recites the proposed agenda for the body. The agenda is approved without objections.

# III. Set Time Certain for Adjournment

Myla Reson moves to set time certain at 8:30 PM. Bella De Soto makes a substitute motion to set the time certain for 9:00 PM. The Chair calls for the roll. The Secretary records the vote:

Grace Aaron (No), Fred Blair (off-line), Sue Cohen-Johnson (Yes), Bella De Soto (Yes), Raymond Goldstone (No), Ralph Hawkins (No), Michael Heiss (No),



Main phone: (818) 985-2711 - Fax: (818) 763-7526 - Studio phone: (818) 985-5735

Eric C. Jacobson (Yes), Kim Kaufman (No), Michael Novick (No), Myla Reson (No), Lawrence Reyes (off-line), Jeanine Rohn (No), Ruth Strauss (Abstain), and Beth von Gunten (Yes).

The tally is 4 yea, 8 nay, and one abstention. The substitute motion fails.

The Chair calls for objections to the original motion. Hearing none, the time certain is set for 8:30 PM.

IV. Appoint Timekeepers: No volunteers.

# V. Approve Minutes

Myla Reson moves to approve the minutes for April 20, 2022 with some spelling corrections and to include the list of current members. The minutes as amended are approved without objection.

### VI. Election for Governance Committee Chair

Myla Reson moves to ratify the Tellers' report naming Michael Novick as winner in the election for a permanent Governance Committee Chair. Approved without objection. **VII. Motion to Rescind or Amend Committee Membership Policy** adopted 10/17/21

Eric Jacobson moves to amend language in the policy. (see Appendix) The Chair calls for the roll. The Secretary records the vote:

Grace Aaron (Yes), Fred Blair (Yes), Sue Cohen-Johnson (No), Bella De Soto (No), Raymond Goldstone (No), Ralph Hawkins (Yes), Michael Heiss (off-line), Eric C. Jacobson (Yes), Kim Kaufman (No), Michael Novick (No), Myla Reson (Yes), Lawrence Reyes (off-line), Jeanine Rohn (No), Ruth Strauss (Abstain), and Beth von Gunten (Yes).

The tally is 6 yea, 6 nay, and one abstention. The motion to amend fails.

Myla Reson moves to amend the policy by adding a sentence limiting total committee memberships to twelve LSB members and ten listener-members. The Chair calls for the roll. The Secretary records the vote:

Grace Aaron (Yes), Fred Blair (Abstain), Sue Cohen-Johnson (No), Bella De Soto (No), Raymond Goldstone (No), Ralph Hawkins (Yes), Michael Heiss



Main phone: (818) 985-2711 - Fax: (818) 763-7526 - Studio phone: (818) 985-5735

(offline), Eric C. Jacobson (Abstain), Kim Kaufman (Abstain), Michael Novick (No), Myla Reson (Yes), Lawrence Reyes (No), Jeanine Rohn (No), Ruth Strauss (Abstain), and Beth von Gunten (Abstain).

The tally is 3 yea, 6 nay, and 5 abstentions. The motion to amend fails.

Myla Reson moves to defer reconsideration of the membership policy to the next meeting. Bella De Soto moves to extend time for this meeting to 9:00 PM. The Chair calls for the roll. The Secretary records the vote:

Grace Aaron (Abstain), Fred Blair (No), Sue Cohen-Johnson (Abstain), Bella De Soto (Yes), Raymond Goldstone (No), Ralph Hawkins (No), Michael Heiss (offline), Eric C. Jacobson (Yes), Kim Kaufman (Abstain), Michael Novick (No), Myla Reson (No), Lawrence Reyes (Abstain), Jeanine Rohn (No), Ruth Strauss (Abstain), and Beth von Gunten (No).

The tally is 2 yea, 7 nay, and 5 abstentions. The motion to extend fails.

# VIII. Set LSB Agenda

The Chair opens the floor to discussion on how to prioritize items for the LSB agenda. Myla Reson moves to adopt the following order for the agenda: The Management Report shall come first after Opening Business, to be followed by the Treasurer's Report, and then our PNB Directors' Reports. Next are other PNB committee report and then local committee reports. The Chair calls for the roll. The Secretary records the vote:

Grace Aaron (Yes), Fred Blair (Yes), Sue Cohen-Johnson (No), Bella De Soto (No), Raymond Goldstone (Yes), Ralph Hawkins (Yes), Michael Heiss (off-line), Eric C. Jacobson (No), Kim Kaufman (Yes), Michael Novick (No), Myla Reson (Yes), Lawrence Reyes (No), Jeanine Rohn (No), Ruth Strauss (Abstain), and Beth von Gunten (Yes).

The tally is 7 yea, 6 nay, and one abstention. The agenda is approved.

# IX. Meeting Adjourned 8:32 PM

#### **APPENDIX:**



Main phone: (818) 985-2711 - Fax: (818) 763-7526 - Studio phone: (818) 985-5735

PROPOSED AMENDMENT TO LSB GOVERNANCE COMMITTEE
RECONSIDERATION MOTION CALENDARED FOR MAY 11, 2022 REGARDING
PURVIEW AND COMPOSITION OF LSB ADVISORY COMMITTEES

BY ERIC C. JACOBSON Additional Text Underscored. Deleted Text Struck-out:

"In order to regularize membership and election processes at KPFK Local Station Board committees, the LSB adopts the following policy protocol. With the exception of the LSB Meetings Agenda-Setting Committee which shall be comprised solely of LSB Members, LSB and non-LSB members who comply with these processes will be considered to be thereby appointed to said committee in accordance with Article VII, Section 10A.

In adopting this policy, the LSB recognizes the following standing committees to which the below protocol applies protocols apply: LSB Meetings Agenda-Setting Committee, responsible for drafting agendas for LSB meetings, comprised of up to 12 LSB members (only); Governance, responsible for drafting agendas for LSB meetings considering procedural motions, Bylaws amendments, and other similar business; Finance, responsible for working with management on budget proposals and financial evaluation; Program Oversight, responsible for working with management to ensure that programming fulfills the Pacifica mission and serves the community, and that programming decisions and evaluations are fair and collaborative; and Fundraising, responsible for organizing and implementing the LSB's fundraising efforts. Committees to which the following membership protocol does not apply include the Personnel or other special management search or evaluation committees, whose membership is by election, or the Outreach Committee, a working committee whose membership is open to all KPFK members prepared to do the work of Outreach and Community Engagement for the station."

----- End of APPENDIX