Minutes for KPFK LSB Meeting of July 16, 2023 Via zoom Minutes Approved October 1, 2023

Meeting convened: 10:34am

Present:

Christina Avalos Doug Barnett (late) Veronica Becerra Mike Bressler (late) Sandy Childs Vic Germani Michael Heiss Sue Cohen Johnson (late) Evelia Jones Ali Lexa Rob Macon Myla Reson (Secretary pro tem) Ruth Strauss Elizabeth von Gunten Harvey Wasserman (Chair) Carlos Zavala Michael Novick (iGM) Kim Kaufman (Treasurer)

Absent:

Barbara Marbach Oye Oyeyipo Paul Roberson

Excused Absence:

John Cromshow

Point of Order from Elizabeth von Gunten questioning the composition of the current LSB roster and calling for the formation of an ad hoc committee to address concerns related to the current KPFK LSB roster which will produce a validated roster prior to counting any votes during the meeting.

The Chair rules that concerns regarding the composition of the KPFK LSB roster should be addressed by the Pacifica National Board, and its legal counsel.

Vote to Uphold the Ruling of the Chair:

Yes: Christina Avalos, Veronica Becerra, Sandy Childs, Vic Germani, Michael Heiss, Evelia Jones, Ali Lexa, Rob Macon, Myla Reson, Harvey Wasserman, Carlos Zavala

No: Elizabeth von Gunten

Abstain: Ruth Strauss

Ruling of the Chair upheld

Agenda adopted with one objection from Elizabeth von Gunten.

Motion to Accept July 11, 2023 LSB Meeting Minutes

Christina Avalos moves; Ali Lexa seconds

Minutes accepted with one objection from Elizabeth von Gunten.

Myla Reson moves, Christina Avalos seconds

Authorizing motion for PNB Committee Elections via email

WHEREAS, up to but no more than two LSB delegates may sit on each the following committees:

Governance Elections Audit PNB Program Committee

WHEREAS, if there are more than two (non PNB Director) volunteers or nominations for any committee an election is needed:

"RESOLVED, that the elections for PNB Committees for the 2023 term shall be conducted via electronic mail, with Terry L. Goodman serving as Chair of Tellers and Sara Roos serving as Teller.

"FURTHER RESOLVED, that all currently serving KPFK Delegates, as authorized by the PNB will be sent ballots and voting instructions via email. Polls shall close on July 21, 2023 at midnight. [Said delegates are as follows: Christina Avalos, Doug Barnett, Veronica Becerra, Mike Bressler, Sandy Childs, John Cromshow, Vic Germani, Michael Heiss, Sue Cohen

Johnson, Evelia Jones, Ali Lexi Al-Hilali, Rob Macon, Barbara Marbach, Oye Oyeyipo, Myla Reson, Paul Roberson, Ruth H. Strauss, Elizabeth von Gunten, Harvey Wasserman, Carlos Zavala]

After adoption of this motion, the LSB Secretary shall send to both tellers the roster of current LSB members with email addresses, the names of nominated candidates and offices to which they have been nominated, and the exact text of this motion as finally adopted.

The Chair of Tellers will distribute preliminary tally results to all voters soon after the tellers agree on those results. The votes will be ratified at the noticed LSB meeting after the distribution of the preliminary tally results.

If quorum is not met by the close of polls, the LSB requests the Chair of Tellers to report to the LSB the number of ballots received. The Chair of Tellers is then authorized to reopen the polls and declare a new deadline of July 28. Election ties are to be resolved and the results declared by the Chair, Chair *Pro Tem*, or Convener at the next meeting of the Local Station Board.

===

PNB Committee Nominations:

PNB Audit Committee:

Two seats, only one volunteer Mike Bressler. Uncontested

PNB Elections Committee:

Two seats; Three nominees: Christina Avalos, Sue Cohen Johnson and Myla Reson - Contested

PNB Governance Committee:

Two seats, only one volunteer Sue Cohen Johnson. Uncontested

PNB Program committee:

Two seats, only one volunteer Michael Heiss. Uncontested

= =

The LSB received a report from the iGM and review KPFK 2023 April-September budget.

Myla Reson moves, Christina Avalos seconds

LSB statement regarding the KPFK 2023 April-September budget

The KPFK LSB has reviewed the KPFK 2023 April-September budget. It reflects a reasonable estimate of revenue and expenses. It is a deficit budget. We believe the personnel costs will decrease in the coming months. The building sale is an unknown. We send the budget to the National Finance Committee (NFC) of the Pacifica National Board for their review.

Passed without objection.

= = =

Manager Evaluation

Myla Reson moves, Sandy Childs seconds

WHEREAS, Article Seven, Section 3(C) of the Pacifica Foundation Bylaws gives Local Station Boards the power and duty to prepare an annual written evaluation of the station's General Manager,

Be it resolved that the KPFK LSB will evaluate the General Manager in a Special Executive Session on August 6, 2023 at 10:30am via zoom. Further information regarding the details and general criteria of the evaluation will be provided to each LSB Member prior to that date.

A Confidentiality Agreement will be sent to each LSB Member no less that 1 week prior to said meeting. An electronically and/or physically signed copy of said agreement must be filed with the acting secretary Myla Reson MylaResonKPFK@gmail.com, by each LSB member, prior to that member being eligible to participate in said evaluation.

Elizabeth Von Gunten moves, Michael Heiss seconds

Substitute Motion:

I move that we postpone this manager's evaluation until the next regular LSB meeting on September 17, 2023, so we can get adequate professional advice from Human Resources and I'll add Pacific General Counsel.

Yes: Mike Bressler, Ruth Strauss, Elizabeth von Gunten

No: Christina Avalos, Sandy Childs, Michael Heiss, Evelia Jones, Ali Lexa, Myla Reson, Harvey Wasserman, Carlos Zavala Abstain: Veronica Becerra, Sue Cohen Johnson

Substitute motion fails

= = =

Initial motion re Manager Evaluation moved by Myla Reson, seconded by Sandy Childs

Yes: Christina Avalos, Veronica Becerra, Sandy Childs, Sue Cohen Johnson, Evelia Jones, Ali Lexa, Myla Reson, Ruth Strauss, Harvey Wasserman, Carlos Zavala

No: Elizabeth von Gunten

Abstain: Mike Bressler, Michael Heiss,

Adjourn 12:38pm

Submitted by Myla Reson, Secretary pro tem