KPFK Local Station Board Minutes – June 4, 2023 APPROVED June 11, 2023 Via zoom

Present:

Christine Avalos
Doug Barnett
Mike Bressler
Sandy Childs
Sue Cohen Johnson
John Cromshow
Michael Heiss
Evelia Jones
Barbara Marbach KPFK
Oye Oyeipo
Myla Reson
Ruth Strauss
Beth Von Gunten
Harvey Wasserman
Carlos Zavala

Kim Kauffman, Secretary pro tem iGM Michael Novick

Not present: Rob Macon Paul Roberson

Request for excuse absences

Ali Lexa Approved, No objections

[no motion made to approve agenda]

Myla Reson moves, Michael Heiss seconds

Postpone the CAB agenda item until July meeting in order to receive written CAB report/s before the meeting.

Yes: Christina Avalos, Sandy Childs, Michael Heiss, Evelia Jones, Barbara Marbach, Oye Oyeipo, Myla Reson, Ruth Strauss, Carlos Zavalas, John Cromshow, Doug Barnett, Harvey Wasserman

Abstain: Mike Bressler

Present Not Voting: Beth Von Gunten

Motion adopted

Chair asks for objections to approving amended agenda

Beth Von Gunten objects

Agenda as amended is adopted

Christina Avalos moves, Myla Reson seconds

Approve minutes from April 23 meeting

Beth Von Gunten objects to all votes; no other objections

Motion to set the next meeting date:

Harvey moves July 9
Doug Barnett moves July 16
Beth Von Gunten moves July 23

July 9: Sandy Childs, Ruth Strauss, John Cromshow, Mike Bressler, Doug Barnett

July 16: Christina Avalos, Michael Heiss, Evelia Jones, Barbara Marbach, Oye Oyeipo, Harvey Wasserman

July 23: no votes

Abstain: Carlos Zavalas, Myla Reson Beth Von Gunten: present not voting

Myla Reson moves, Barbara Marbach seconds:

The LSB rescinds all previous LSB officer election motions and replaces with the following new motion for officer elections: Beth Von Gunten objects; no other objections

Motion adopted

Myla Reson moves, Barbara Marbach seconds:

Authorizing motion for LSB Officer Elections via email

"RESOLVED, that the elections for KPFK LSB Officers for the 2023 term [and the PNB committees, below] shall be conducted via electronic mail, with Terry L. Goodman serving as Chair of Tellers and Sara Roos serving as Teller.

"FURTHER RESOLVED, that all currently serving KPFK Delegates, as authorized by the PNB, will be sent ballots and voting instructions via email. Polls shall close on June 9, 2023 at midnight.

After adoption of this motion, the LSB Secretary Pro Tem shall send to both tellers the roster of current LSB members with email addresses, the names of nominated candidates and offices to which they have been nominated, and the exact text of this motion as finally adopted.

The Chair of Tellers will distribute preliminary tally results to all voters soon after the tellers agree on those results. The votes will be ratified at the noticed LSB meeting after the distribution of the preliminary tally results.

If quorum is not met by the close of polls, the LSB requests the Chair of Tellers to report to the LSB the number of ballots received. The Chair of Tellers is then authorized to reopen the polls and declare a new deadline of June 16. Election ties are to be resolved and the results declared by the Chair, Chair Pro Tem, or Convener at the next meeting of the Local Station Board.

Beth Von Gunten objects; no other objections

A meeting is set for June 11 to ratify the election, if quorum is met. If election is extended there will be a meeting June 16 to ratify the election.

No objections

Nomination of LSB officers:

Chair

Christina Avalos nominates Harvey Wasserman

Vice Chair

Myla Reson nominates John Cromshow

Treasurer

Myla Reson nominates Kim Kaufman Beth Von Gunten nominates Oye Oyeipo

Secretary

Doug Barnett self-nominates

Beth Von Gunten moves, Christina Avalos seconds:

To Postpone elections for PNB Committees until the next meeting.

Yes: Christina Avalos, Oye Oyeipo, Beth Von Gunten, Mike Bressler, Doug Barnett, Michael Heiss, Barbara Marbach

No: Sandy Childs, John Cromshow

Abstain: Ruth Strauss, Myla Reson, Carlos Zavala, Harvey Wasserman

Motion approved

Ruth Strauss moves, Myla Resons econds:

MOTION RE PROGRAMMING

WHEREAS the KPFK Program grid has undergone numerous changes

it has come to the attention of several PrOC and LSB members, that some long-time listenersupporters are not happy with the changes and are currently withholding financial support due to this

and WHERAS the need for funders through an acceptable grid as possible, given diverse interests of the listeners, it is crucial that:

1) ASAP a station/gm dispatch should notify the public to invite them to participate in the Programming

Oversight Committee meetings if they wish (with timely posting of access information)

 A <u>dedicated</u> Town Hall should be arranged as soon as possible for hearing listener ideas about programming; to be announced by KPFK dispatch, on air announcements, during Community Calendar, and posted prominently on the web page;

3) A formal survey should be undertaken for membership input about programming and ideas about grid changes;

(*At least one LSB member has connections to a college and has offered to engage students in collating the data.)

(Respectfully submitted Ruth Strauss LSB and Programming Oversight Committee Member)

Yes: Christina Avalos, Sandy Childs, Michael Heiss, Barbara Marbach, Oye Oyeipo, Myla Reson, Ruth Strauss, Carlos Zavala, Doug Barnett, Harvey Wasserman

Present Not Voting: Beth Von Gunten

Motion adopted

Myla Reson moves, several second:

Motion to Adjourn

Yes: Christina Avalos, Sandy Childs, Michael Heiss, Barbara Marbach, Evelia Jones, Oye Oyeipo, Myla Reson, Carlos Zavala, Doug Barnett, Harvey Wasserman

Abstain: Ruth Strauss

Adjourn 1:15

Submitted by Kim Kaufman, Secretary pro tem