# OFFICIAL COPY

# **Pacifica Foundation** KPFT LSB Adjourned (Continuation) Meeting & Delegate Assembly

**MINUTES** 

3606 Beauchamp St., Houston, Texas 77009 January 29, 2020 Page 1 of 2

## 7:04p Adjourned (Continuation) LSB Meeting, Called to Order.

Roll Called/ Quorum Established.

**Members Attending:** Teresa Allen (Phone), Adriana Casenave (Phone), Bill Crosier, Lynden Foley, Rhonda Garner, Patrick Hoyt, Wally James, DeWayne Lark, Mike Lewis, Paula Miller, Susie Moreno, Vinisha Patel-Adams, Sandra Rawline, Nancy Saibara-Naritomi, Wendy Schroell, Deb Shafto, Richard Uzzell, Rita Washington, Sandy Weinmann, Ted Weisgal and Vaniecia Williams

Deb Shafto, Chair

Richard Uzzell, Secretary Pro-tem

Ex Offico: Jew Don Boney, Jr. IGM, Non-Voting.

Members Absence, Excused: Rawline moved to excuse Darelle Robbins. HNO, Robbins excused

Members Absence, Unexcused: Egberto Willies.

Agenda Approval. Because this is a continuation meeting, the Agenda approved on January 8, 2020 is in effect.

#### **Minutes Approval.**

January 8, 2020 Minutes. <u>Uzzell moved</u> the Approval of the January 8, 2020 Minutes. HNO, Minutes of January 8, 2020 Approved.

**December 11, 2019 Minutes.** <u>Crosier moved</u> to remove the December 11, 2019 Minutes from the Table. HNO, the Minutes were removed from the Table. <u>Crosier moved</u> approval of the December 11, 2019 Minutes. HNO, the Minutes were Approved.

#### Election for 2020 KPFT LSB Officers (Continued).

Patel-Adams objected to Board Members on the phone not being able to vote.

<u>Chair Ruled</u> that the Board Members on the phone could vote in the election, if they agreed to give up their privacy by voting out load.

**LSB Secretary.** <u>Weinmann nominated</u> Richard Uzzell to be Secretary. No other nominations made. HNO, Uzzell elected by acclamation.

**LSB Treasurer.** <u>Weinmann nominated</u> Teresa Allen to be Treasurer. <u>Patel-Adams nominated</u> Adriana Casenave. By a vote of 13-6, Allen elected to be Treasurer.

7:45p Public Comment (30 minutes). Audio of Public Comment will be available at kpftx.org.

Chair recessed the LSB Meeting and Call the Delegates Assembly to Order.

# OFFICIAL COPY

#### KPFT LSB Adjourned (Continuation) Meeting & Delegates Assembly. January 29, 2020

Page 2 of 2.

#### 8:15p Delegate Assembly Call to Order.

#### Roll/ Quorum.

Deb Shafto, KPFT LSB Chair Richard Uzzell, KPFT LSB Secretary

Uzzell verified that everyone who was present at the LSB Meeting was still in the room. Quorum established.

**Objection to Robert Garner not being seated.** Lark objected to Robert Gartner not being seated rather than Martinez. Uzzell explained that the convening Chair from the last meeting, Lynden Foley, had ruled not to seat Gartner to the LSB, at the January 8, 2020 meeting because he was deemed as "not being a member in good standing." Weisgal made a Parliamentary Inquiry about Gartner not being seated. Saibara-Naritomi continued to disrupt the meeting by yelling in a load voice.

## \*\*Saibara-Naritomi called Out of Order, by the Chair and she was given her "First Warning" for disruptive behavior.

Chair ruled (Martinez concurred) that Martinez would not vote on any measure until the Gartner's status was settled.

<u>Rawline moved</u> to Table the discussion of the seating Gartner until the February 12, 2020 meeting of the LSB, with an understanding that the Chair would research the disqualification and report back at the February meeting. By a vote of 17-1 the motion Approved.

Vote to Fill 2019 PNB Vacancy. Adrienne LaViolette resignation left a vacancy on the 2019 PNB.

<u>Rawline moved</u> to fill the vacancy for the balance of the 2019 term. HNO, motion Approved. Motion voted Approved 13-3.

<u>Rawline nominated</u> Rhonda Garner to complete LaViolette's term on the 2019 PNB. <u>Casenave nominated</u> Nancy Saibara-Naritomi. <u>Moreno nominated</u> Ted Weisgal. By a vote of 12 for Garner, 4 for Saibara-Naritomi and 2 for Weisgal; Rhonda Garner was elected to complete LaViolette's term on the 2019 PNB.

#### 9:45p Time certain to Adjourn was reached.

Saibara-Naritomi moved to extend time 30 minutes. By a vote of 8-7, time extension Approved.

Lark moved to vote on the Bylaws Amendments. HNO, motion Approved. Discussion followed. By a vote of 3-14 the Bylaws Amendments Failed.

Next Meeting. February 12, 2020. Location TBD.

Adjournment. James moved to Adjourn at 10:05p. HNO, meeting Adjourned.

Minutes Scribed by Richard Uzzell, KPFT LSB Secretary.

## Minutes Approved by Vote of the KPFT LSB on February 12, 2020, KPFT LSB Chair \_Deb Shafto

Deb Shafto, Chair