## **DRAFT MINUTES**

WPFW Local Station Board Meeting 2390 Champlain Street, NW, Washington, DC 20009

Wednesday, March 8, 2006

Meeting Convenes 7:20 pm

## 1. Board members in attendance:

Acie Byrd

Ambrose Lane

Ayo Handy Kendi

Billy Ray Edwards

Cade Campbell

Carol Wolfe

Gloria Turner

Hakam Takash

Jane Gatewood

Joni Eisenberg

Kalonji Olusegun

Luzette King

Mark Roberts

Mark Berman

Norberto Martinez

Thomas Ruffin

Zarinah Shakir

Excused Absences – Joe Chiara, Rob Robinson, Jim Brown, Dan Logan

Unexcused Absences - Donnie McKethan, Sarah Bittle

Ron Pinchback, station GM and non-voting board member is also absent.

## 2. Review and approval of agenda

Ruffin makes a point of order, stating his belief that the agenda should pick up where it left off at the previous meeting. Chair indicates that Mr. Ruffin's concern is not a point of order but invites him to introduce a motion to change the order of the agenda.

Berman moves to accept agenda in the order as presented. Lane Seconds.

## Discussion

- Gatewood moves to add an item to new business, addressing concern raised in email from Ruffin about Ryhm Kathouda's access to her file cabinet in a storage room.

Chair asks if there are any other proposed amendments.

- Ruffin moves that old business be dealt with immediately after approval of minutes
- Shakir moves to add item under new business dealing with conduct
- Handy-Kendy moves to add item to new business for clarification of status of recording of January meeting

- Campbell moves to item to new business about why LSB minutes went to PNB without permission of LSB

Chair asks to vote on amendments, adding four new business items. Additions to new business are approved 12y; 0n; 0a

Chair asks for vote on motion to change order of agenda to move old business after approval of minutes. Ruffin objects, stating that this is a point of order. Chair asks Parliamentarian for clarification. Parliamentarian states that this is a new meeting.

Ruffin appeals ruling of chair. Martinez seconds.

Vice chair asks for vote on appeal, asking members to indicate if they uphold the chair's ruling. Ruffin challenges vice chair's right to vote. Parliamentarian states that chair, or in this case, the vice chair, always has right to vote.

Chair's ruling is upheld. (9y; 2n)

Agenda is adopted, as amended. (9y; 2n; 1a)

(7:40 pm)

3. Review and Approval of Minutes: January 11 and February 8

Lane moves to accept both sets of minutes Both sets of minutes are approved (10y; 0n)

- 4. 2006 PNB and LSB Committee Membership
- (a) PNB Committee Nominations Chair indicates that we will need to elect one director and three LSB delegate representatives. All other committees require two LSB delegates (PNB has already elector director representatives to all committees except COI). If there are more nominations than openings, elections will be held using STV voting method. Eisenberg asks for information about what committees do and how they function. Discussion ensues. The floor is opened for nominations. Nominations are summarized:

Committee of Inclusion Kalonji Olusegun Hakam Takash Norberto Martinez

Lane (director)

Governance

Cade Campbell

Jim Brown

Audit

Mark Roberts

Thomas Ruffin

Programming

Dan Logan

Kalonji Olusegun

Joni Eisenberg

Technology Hakam Takash Thomas Ruffin

Election
Carol Wolfe
Jane Gatewood
Archives
Kalonji Olusegun
Dan Logan
Affiliates
Kalonji Olusegun
Ayo Handy-Kendi
Hakam Takash

The only committees with more than the allotted positions are Programming and Affiliates. Gatewood prepares ballot and makes and distributes copies.

Wolfe moves that ballots will be completed at the meeting, placed in a sealed envelope and given to Jane Gatewood who will take the envelop to the Takoma Park office of Fairvote who will complete tabulation using STV counting method.

Motion is approved without objection.

Ballots are distributed. King asks for clarity as to whether duplicate rankings are permitted. Gatewood notes that this will dilute vote but that there is no reason the vote cannot be handled since it is to be hand-tabulated. Chair states that since there is no problem with software, members are free to use duplicate rankings.

Completed ballots are gathered up by Handy-Kendi who seals and signs envelop.

(b) Reformulation of Management, Assessment and Search Committee (MASC)

Chair reports on results of LSB Officers task of selecting new MASC membership, as directed by LSB. New committee members are: Jim Brown, Carol Wolf, Rob Robinson, Mark Berman, and Gloria Turner

Takash moves to extend item by 10 minutes to allow for discussion. Approved without objection. Takash moves to open nominations for committee. Berman seconds.

Roberts indicates that motion is out of order since Board previously delegated responsibility for formulation of this committee to LSB officers. Chair consults with parliamentarian who agrees that this would require a motion to rescind.

Lane moves to move the agenda. Motion approved (9y; 3n; 3a)

- 5. Community comment
- 6. Proposal for LSB leadership assignments (Gatewood). Some discussion but, due to lateness of hour,

proposal is set-aside for time being. Members are asked to complete "committee preference sheets," which will be tabulated as draft LSB committees

Meeting is adjourned 10:00 pm

**Unfinished Business** 

Reports (LSB Committees, GM, PNB)

Staff election of replacement to complete Katea Stitt's term

**Old Business** 

LSB Secretary

LSB response to PNB Programming Resolution

LSB show

**New Business** 

- 2007 WPFW Budget preparations (5 min)
- concern about Ryme Khatkhouda's access to her file cabinet (Gatewood)
- item about conduct (Shakir)
- clarification of status of recording of January meeting (Handy-Kendy)
- question re: why LSB minutes went to PNB without permission of LSB (Campbell)

Respectfully submitted,

Jane Gatewood, Acting secretary